Guest Reviews

1 Reviews Of Our Ranch

★★★★★ 5/5 Women's Retreat

I hosted a women’s retreat for 30 ladies at Chinquapin in June and I couldn’t imagine a more beautiful place to gather. Cecilia made things easy to plan and Vaughn was a DREAM to work with on site. We adored all the special touches in the houses, having happy hour on the swimming”pond” and gathering for our sessions in the Rec Room. My big city women were enthralled by all the exotic animals and in awe of the starry sky. I was so happy with the abundance of supplies for our large group (towels, dish ware, wine glasses, plenty of private space to spread out) and the uniqueness of each bedroom/house. We all left our long weekend feeling nourished and inspired. And we’re DEFINITELY coming back! Chinquapin is a treasure. October 4, 2017

★★★★★ 5/5 Beautiful

This Ranch is beautiful! It was so secluded and had something for everyone. It was perfect for our weekend retreat. Thanks so much for the hospitality! July 12, 2017

★★★★★ 5/5 Perfect Location

The Ranch was the PERFECT location for a weekend retreat. The spaces were beautiful, full of tiny details that made it feel even better than home. With thirty of us we found both areas of quiet and spaces big enough to accommodate us all at once. I can’t imagine a single detail I would suggest improving. July 3, 2017

★★★★★ 5/5 Retreat Weekend

We had an amazing time at the Ranch for our retreat weekend – we were so blown away by the beauty of the property and also by the hospitality. We can’t wait to return! July 3, 2017

★★★★★ 5/5 Beautiful and Peaceful

So beautiful, so peaceful—the absolute perfect space for our retreat. I slept well, ate well, and lots of fun. Highly recommended!!!!! July 3, 2017

★★★★★ 5/5 Heaven on Earth

Heaven on Earth! We love Chinquapin Ranch and are blessed to have made it a family tradition. May 30, 2017

★★★★★ 5/5 100% Fantastic

100% fantastic. 2017 was our 2nd memorial day weekend @ Chinquapin. We love it. May 29, 2017

★★★★★ 5/5 One Of a Kind Property

CiCi and Cecilia illuminate throughout this one-of-a-kind property. Our group of longtime college friends have raised our kids at Chinquapin giving them and each other treasured memories and BIG Chinquapin love. May 29, 2017

★★★★★ 5/5 Thanksgiving Family Reunion 2105

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to share your property this Thanksgiving. We annually hold a gathering for 2 families to come together at this time of year in a different location of Central/Texas. Chinquapin Ranch allowed 25 of us to enjoy the beautiful surrounding. Even though it rained for most of the stay, we still managed to fish for wide mouth bass, hold our annual 5K Turkey Trot, played bunko at the “Big House”, completed 3 different puzzles, played many a board game, kept the fire places warm and cozy, prepared multiple meals with family and friends, ping pong tournaments, wine tasting, football watching despite Texas A&M getting hammered by LSU, and by reserving the entire property everyone had their own place to stay each evening. We had 4 generations represented over the 4 day rental and everyone was very pleased and talking like they would like to return. We normally find different locations to stay each year, but we might make a tradition break as the Chinquapin Ranch was outstanding and extremely comfortable. Thank you! November 2015

★★★★★ 5/5 Awesome Place

Awesome place! October 18, 2015

★★★★★ 5/5 Magical

Chinquapin Ranch is magical. We gathered family and friends for my husband’s 70th birthday. It was a perfect spot for everyone. We had people from 4 months old to dear friends in their 80’s and everyone had the time of their lives. There is a perfect playground and playroom for kids and the swimming is unparalleled. The “pool” is larger than Barton Springs and, I swear, everyone who got in was healed of every ailment. It is a holy and perfect spot. Maintained by a holy and perfect family & staff. We are deeply grateful for our time there and hope we return many many times. August 16, 2015

★★★★★ 5/5 Reunion weekend

We so loved staying at the Ranch! It was so beautiful. The pictures online doesn’t do it justice. The owner was so amazing setting everything up. We did have a cook come in and prepared all meals for my family. The cook (Nadi) did an awesome job. We are booking for next year. We loved it. July 2015

★★★★★ 5/5 Special Place

Chinquapin Ranch is a very special place! We just had a large family reunion here and it was an absolutely fabulous experience! All of our group raved the whole weekend. The setting is perfect for families with a recreation room, playground and fabulous swimming hole, equipped with rafts, kayaks and even a paddle boat. All of the accommodations were so charming and comfortable and the Lodge was fantastic for all our meals, hanging out and late night game playing. We couldn’t have been happier with our experience! The ranch is obviously so well cared for and loved. I would go back in a heartbeat and will recommend it to all my friends!! June 24, 2015

★★★★★ 5/5 Perfect for our company retreat!

Chinquapin Ranch was the ideal location for our company retreat. The lodge was the perfect setting to host everyone for meals as well as workshop activities. We were able to spread out on to the screened porches and patio areas for break-out sessions. Everyone ooh’d and ahh’d over their accommodations in all of the separate houses. The rooms were all so comfortable and made our employees truly feel at home. Just being around the water, taking rides in the paddle boat, and sitting by the bank added a level of relaxation to the entire experience of staying at Chinquapin. We were so grateful to the entire staff for their attention to detail during our entire stay. While we relished feeling so remote and secluded, it added so much peace of mind to know that someone knowledgeable and skilled could be on site in the blink of an eye if we ran in to any problems (which we didn’t). A BIG thank you to Chinquapin for hosting us — we certainly hope we’ll be back soon! May 2015

★★★★★ 5/5 5 Stars are definitely not enough!!!

great place for fishing, hiking, biking, swimming, or just laying in the hammock. the accommodations are amazing. we can’t wait to go back. October 2014

★★★★★ 5/5 Don't make me leave!

We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay. We were guests for a wedding party and were SO surprised how they had thought of everything. From shampoo and soap in the showers to kayaks in the pond and everything in between. We have a baby and there was a refrigerator near by and kitchen facilities and so many great outdoor spaces to explore and enjoy. We loved the fire pit and the game-room and trampoline were over the top amenities you just don’t get elsewhere, let alone on a ranch! Thank you so much for a great weekend and wonderful experience for our family! October 2014

★★★★★ 5/5 Exceeded Expectations

I never take the time to write reviews. I am quite discerning and often critical. Chinquapin was wonderful in most every way. I highly recommend it. October 2014

★★★★★ 5/5 Magical Family Gathering

Chinquapin Ranch was even more beautiful than the lovely pictures on the website. It was exceedingly well maintained and the foreman was immediately there for any need that arose. The owner was superbly gracious. She recommended a family cook and her husband to us and we were treated to the most delicious Sunday brunch on our last day at the ranch. For the past 40 years, my family has gathered for a weekend vacation, our “Fling”, and this is the first year any of us can recall that every single person, young and old, city and country folk, absolutely loved the place we gathered. No one wanted to leave by the time Sunday rolled around. The houses are beautifully maintained, and the decor is rich with history and perfectly suited for a hill country ranch. There is absolutely nothing that needs to be brought to the ranch for the kitchen, as it was completely stocked with everything you can imagine! We had an entire list of activities to do in and around Kerrville and Fredericksburg, but the fact is that no one left the ranch. We arrived on Thursday, and spent our entire days and nights on the property. We had baseball games, puzzle and ping pong tournaments, played basketball and badminton, enjoyed card games and washers, and so much more. The space is so large that there is plenty of room for people to spread out or be as intimate as desired. The shade of the large oak, pecan, sycamore and other trees was so enjoyable. The birds were an added bonus. Despite the drought in Texas, we thoroughly enjoyed the “pool”, which is really the size of a small lake, as well as the paddle boat and couple of kayaks available for us to use. Although we have rented many places over the years, we have never EVER had a place that so completely met the needs of each person in my family as was the case at Chinquapin. In the bucket lists of life, the Chinquapin Ranch is a must for anyone interested in a hill country adventure unlike anything else anywhere. We loved our stay, and this will go down in family history as the most magical family gathering we ever experienced. We are grateful and thankful for the opportunity and we hope we are able to experience Chinquapin again next year, or the next time a family wedding roles around. This would be an incredible place to hold a celebration. Thank you for the memories. July 2014

★★★★★ 5/5 Family Reunion 2013

Chinquapin was the perfect spot for our large family reunion. Without exception, everyone was pleased. The main lodge with its soaring ceilings was comfortable and spacious for eating meals, visiting, hanging out or just napping. We had three toddlers and the television room worked great for quiet naps but was still close enough for monitoring. The huge kitchen allowed everyone to be involved in meal preparation. All the kitchenware you could possibly need was available for preparation and serving. The houses were so pretty and thoughtfully planned – everyone felt pampered. The swimming was awesome and the grounds were beautiful with many spots to rest, visit and take in the scenery. The recreation house was great for competitive games of ping pong, pool, darts or basketball. The playground was complete with a treehouse, swings and an in-ground trampoline. There was something for all ages. I preferred the hammocks by the water. The evening trips to sunset lookout was a whole family favorite – we even learned of an impending marriage proposal there. We were wowed when we arrived at Chinquapin and when we left – definitely an annual event now for our family. Thank you to Vaughn and Cecilia for making us feel so welcome. July 2013

★★★★★ 5/5 Everything is perfect!

Words can’t even begin to describe the beauty that is Chinquapin. I brought my friends and family together for my 40th Birthday at Chinquapin, and not only are we all planning on coming back for 50, but maybe also 43 and 46! As other reviews have said, almost every member of our party is trying to plan to come back to the ranch someday. The entire ranch is perfectly stocked, supplied and decorated. Anything you could possibly want, just look where you think it should be and it will be there! All the bedrooms have their own stye, complete with comfortable linens, comfy beds, beautiful well loved furniture, claw footed bath tubs AND outdoor showers! The Lodge is the perfect place for all the gatherings, with plenty of room inside and out for all kinds of sitting and enjoying each others’ company or just quietly reading, listening to the birds! The water was glorious. I expected to just watch the kids play all day… but half an hour later and all the adults were in and couldn’t be coaxed out until the dinner bell rang! We had all ages from toddlers, teenagers, young adults and seniors, and I can truly say that everyone enjoyed themselves and had a great time. The photos, however beautiful, don’t even begin to do justice. And Vance, the ranch foreman was so nice and helpful, just a phone call away, for answers to questions, more supplies, and to help jumpstart a dead battery! Like I said, words are inadequate… just go there! May 2013

★★★★★ 5/5 Perfect Wedding Experience

We chose Chinquapin for our 30 person weeding over Labor Day weekend. The number one topic of conversation during this trip? Not the bride or the wedding. It was getting back out to Chinquapin soon. Every one of the guests, the bride, and groom had an awesome time. The central lodge, playground, rec room, and spring fed pool mean the younger folk can stay up late while the more experienced get to retire early without any noise. Great idea! The quality of the place was amazing. Beautiful rooms decorated wonderfully with the finest materials. Furnishings and linens were outstanding. Outdoor showers were a nice treat (not required – they do have nice indoor showers too!). Every detail was taken care of throughout the property. Who has a commercial ice machine? Chinquapin does. It’s a testament to the thoughtfulness of the owners. They have done this before. You do not have to sweat the details. Oh, the water. The website claims you won’t get out. They mean it. The only time the spring fed pool (about 75 degrees) wasn’t used was during the actual ceremony. Young and old alike were in the water constantly. Most of us are from Austin. The closest comparison is if you had a private Barton Springs in your backyard. It’s that good. It was about a 2.5 hour trip from Austin but surprisingly easy to find. Cell phone service was pefect. It didn’t work at all but in a few places throughout the ranch. You could get and make calls when you wanted to, but had a great excuse if you didn’t. AT&T seemed the best. Wireless internet worked well in several of the properties for those who can’t put their smartphones down. Cecilia recommended a wonderful woman, Nati, for breakfast and cleanup. She came in two mornings. Her homemade tortillas, chorizo, etc was awesome. She was charming and sweet too. What a way to start the day! Finally we loaded up the trucks and went to Sunset Hill on our last evening. Despite 100 degree temperatures it was cool and breezy on the hill. The view was breath taking. It was one of the highlights of the trip (and I was the groom!). August 2012


This ranch is a dream.

The houses, the location, the decor, the water, the land, the DECOR. Really magical place for everyone. I love the main house being a meeting place for dinners, swimming and roasting marsh mellows and then everyone has a home they can spread out to at bedtime. It is where I would like to live out my life. It is perfect.

June 2012

★★★★★ 5/5 Hill Country Magic

Chinquapin Ranch is sheer perfection. We felt unbelievably lucky to be staying at their beautiful place. Not only is it stunningly gorgeous, but it radiates fun and love from every corner. Each detail has been considered, and you get a real sense of the love that went into creating the ranch.

Everyone who works at the ranch is delightful, from the ranch owner to the foreman to the lovely Nati (who makes the best homemade tortillas and huevos rancheros that you could ever imagine). The decor is the perfect blend of modern meets country hip. Each house has it’s own personality, and all the furniture is cozy, beautiful and well-loved. Just when you think things can’t get any better, you’ll come upon yet another screened porch, hammock, or reading nook. And then there is the enormous creek…the water is the ideal temperature and depth, framed by limestone banks. There is endless space for the kids to run outdoors and a million activities for them. I could go on and on, but couldn’t even begin to do it justice. Just know that if you are fortunate enough to spend some time at Chinquapin, you will immediately begin planning your next trip there.

June 2012

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search